Background – Chisel Challenge 2010

Okay…..here’s  a little background on how this whole Chisel Challenge came about.  I’ve been “Into Fitness” for a number of years…..ever since I started Jazzercise my senior year at Clemson – ya know tryin’ to shed those excess college girl pounds so I could present my best “self” as I jumped on the career path. My first Fitness Mentor worked with me to site current health screening information and monitor the improvement from a physical fitness standpoint, nutrition and basic medical perspective. A very good overall learning experience regarding the relationship between the three categories.

Post Clemson a move to the metropolis of Clinton, SC – the commencement of my career – I lived across the street from the YMCA where I kept up my workout routine. It was there that I met my second Fitness Mentor whom encouraged me to get a Group Fitness Instructor Certification, which I did with the American Council on Exercise (A.C.E.) back in 1993.

It was at this point that my appreciation for bodybuilding began. I tucked that intrigue into the back of my mind until now.

So, why now?

Well, I have a new appreciation for the gift / blessing of being Healthy. Approaching three years ago, I took a trip to the beautiful land of India, but unfortunately upon my return to the States, was hospitalized for 15 days with an undiagnosed illness. The recovery time took about two years and I spent the third year rebuilding my fitness level – a significant challenge in and of itself – with the goal of gaining an In-Door Cycling Instructor Certification, which I acquired June 2009 through the Nautilus Institute. Now…..I need a new challenge to fulfill and Chisel Challenge 2010 is it!!

I decided to put my intrigue of the sport of Body Building into action. A friend of mine’s brother who competes in Body Building gave me Marie Ann Newman’s (IFBB Professional Figure Competitor / Fitness Model) information. I e-mailed her, we scheduled an appointment to meet face to face to discuss the possibilities / potential, I attended a show per her recommendation, we determined that the Women’s Body Building was the best category for my physique, and as of June 21, 2010 I became a proud member of the Custom Fitness DREAM TEAM!! Custom Fitness is the business Marie Ann and her husband Jim run.

All sights are set on a September 18, 2010 competition…..let the Trainin’ Begin!!

Leave a Reply

